2019 Eta Kappa Nu Induction Ceremony

On Thursday, October 17, 2019 Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) inducted 14 new members. Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) is the international electrical and computer engineering honor society dedicated to encouraging and recognizing excellence in IEEE-designated fields of interest. The Lehigh Valley HKN chapter is an active student organization committed to enhancing the undergraduate student experience in the ECE department by mentoring underclassmen and providing networking opportunities across students, faculty and alumni. Activities of the organization also extend beyond the department through joint events with other fraternities and student organizations at Lehigh, and additionally building relationships with various schools in South Bethlehem.

The 2019-2020 Eta Kappa Nu student officers include: Dan Prongay (President), Mitul Surti (Vice President), Alex Schiffman (Treasurer), Kelly Vaughn (Social Chair), Cindy Zhao (Community Service Chair) and Nolan Sornson (Pledge Chair).

Congratulations to the new members!

(Inductees: Top: Ryan Schmid ’22, Alexander Carr ’22, Kevin Gu ’22, Enrique Gaytan ’20

Middle: Clay Boice ’22, Henry Levy ’20, Kristen Yusiewicz ’21, Emma Banker ’21, Daniel Browne ’20, Daniel Onyemelukwe ’20

Bottom: Vaibhav Anand ’22, Marta Kasica-Soltan ’21, Kristine Phan ’21, Emma Mirabelli ’22)
More photos on the next page —-

125th Anniversary of EE

In April 2018, the ECE department at Lehigh University celebrated a huge milestone- the 125th Anniversary of the department!  Alumni, students, guest and faculty members all showed their support in our one day celebration.  Many thanks to our key note speakers who took time out of their day to talk to our department about the “Future Directions of ECE”, “Electrical Engineering: Future in Industry & Areas”, and “How can we Improve ECE at Lehigh”.  Our Keynote Speakers included: David Bader (Professor & Chair of the School of Computational Science and Engineering, College of Computing at Georgia Institute of Technology), Michael Reffle (Infinera Corporation) and Philip Wong (Professor at Standford University).  Our Panel Speakers included: Aref Chowdhury (CTO of Optics at Nokia), Jeff Karper (Manager, Power Systems Engineering at Lockheed Martin-Rotary & Mission Systems), Sean Anderson (Principal Engineering with MACOM Technology Solutions), Thomas Charisoulis and Eileen Mazzochette.